Efficient mobility means connecting people and markets faster.

Mobility – the ability of people and goods to move quickly, reliably and safely – is of great importance in our highly specialized economy based on the division of labour. Even the Internet and e-commerce haven’t changed the fact that people have to and want to be mobile and that goods have to be transported during the production process and then reach the customer following their completion.

 

As a result of EU enlargement, Berlin has become the geographical centre of the European Union. Thanks to its sophisticated infrastructure, the Berlin-Brandenburg capital region is now the metropolitan region of Europe with a dense and high-quality infrastructure in its public transport network. Once BER is complete, the overall project will be rounded off with a highly efficient and attractive airport connection.

 

The outstanding air, rail, road and water infrastructure enables extremely fast connections to both national and international markets and makes up the centre of the trans-European commodity flow. The motorway connections along the north-south axis run from Scandinavia to southern Europe, while the west-east axis stretches from Rotterdam to Moscow via Berlin and Warsaw.

Effizient mobil sein heißt, Menschen und Märkte schneller zu verbinden.

Mobilität – die schnelle, zuverlässige und sichere örtliche Beweglichkeit von Menschen und Gütern – ist ein hohes Gut in unserer arbeitsteilig organisierten und daher hoch spezialisierten Wirtschaft. Auch das Internet und E-Commerce haben nichts daran geändert, dass Menschen mobil sein müssen und wollen, Güter während des Produktionsprozesses transportiert werden und nach ihrer Fertigstellung zum Kunden kommen müssen.

Mit der EU-Erweiterung ist die deutsche Hauptstadt ins geografische Zentrum der Europäischen Union gerückt. Dank der gut ausgebauten Infrastruktur ist die Hauptstadtregion Berlin-Brandenburg heute der Metropolenraum Europas mit einem quantitativ und qualitativ äußerst hochwertigen Angebot an Verkehrsinfrastruktur im ÖPNV. Nach Fertigstellung des BER wird das Ganze komplettiert mit einer leistungsfähigen und attraktiven Anbindung an den internationalen Luftverkehr.

Die herausragende Infrastruktur von Luft, Schiene, Straße und Wasserweg schafft schnellste Verbindungen zu nationalen wie internationalen Märkten und bildet den Dreh- und Angelpunkt des transeuropäischen Warenstroms. Die Autobahnverbindungen reichen auf der Nord-Süd-Achse von Skandinavien bis Südosteuropa, auf der West-Ost-Achse von Rotterdam über Berlin und Warschau bis nach Moskau.