Sustainable building is no longer a niche for eco-idealists. It has long since become mainstream and public knowledge. All over the world, increasing numbers of projects are proving through the use of tangible buildings that economy and ecology can indeed be combined well. In the future, this will also have a considerable influence on a property’s intrinsic value.


In developing the gatelands smart business park, the team at gatelands Projektentwicklung GmbH & Co. KG have proved that energy-efficient and smart cities are cost-effective to build and can provide users with the quality they expect from a place to live and work. Here, for instance, we’re building a sustainable city system. Fraunhofer IAO is responsible for the conceptual management of this project. The company is holistically developing this pilot project with experienced experts in the areas of mobility innovations, smart city innovations and green buildings in order to create sustainable system and building development.


gatelands interviews Dr. Wilhelm Bauer, managing director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Engineering and Organization (IAO) in Stuttgart::


The rapid development of global added value networks is resulting in goods and people having to be increasingly mobile. How can we manage this increasing need for mobility in the long term?

 

„We will only satisfy this increasing need for logistics services when we can come up with highly sustainable solutions, particularly in our cities. To do this, we need to quickly introduce highly energy-efficient transport and traffic systems that can be run on renewable energies. Vehicles with hybrid engines, which will later be followed by completely electric vehicles, will allow us to make progress here. International competition for the best ideas and solutions is in full swing.“


To do this, is it not essential that the urban infrastructure as a whole can be intelligently networked such that people and technical systems can co-exist harmoniously?

 

„The smart city is our model for the future: networked, energy-efficient, safe, low-emission, clean and functional. And of course, it also has to run economically. Smart cities are designed for people, to meet their needs, to provide places for them to live and work. If we achieve this, then we give urban living a new quality, we create the attractive living spaces of the future. We in Germany can show that we’re international leaders in this field and can overcome the coming challenges with our innovations for the cities of the future.“


Thank you very much for talking to us!



DR. WILHELM BAUER –
MANAGING DIRECTOR OF THE FRAUNHOFER IAO AND THE IAT

Mittlerweile ist es keine Nische mehr für Ökoidealisten, sondern längst im Mainstream und damit im Bewusstsein der breiten Öffentlichkeit angekommen: nachhaltiges Bauen! Weltweit machen immer mehr Projekte auf sich aufmerksam, die anhand konkreter Bauten beweisen, dass Ökonomie und Ökologie eben doch bestens vereinbar sind. Die Werthaltigkeit einer Immobilie wird in Zukunft wesentlich auch durch diese Haltung bestimmt.

Dass energieeffiziente und smarte Städte zugleich wirtschaftlich realisierbar sind als auch die entsprechenden Qualitäten für Leben und Arbeiten für die Nutzer bereitstellen können, beweist das Team der gatelands Projektentwicklung GmbH & Co. KG mit der Entwicklung des smart business parks gatelands.


Ein nachhaltiges Stadtsystem wird hier beispielgebend realisiert. Die konzeptionelle Federführung für dieses Projekt liegt dabei beim Fraunhofer IAO, das dieses Pilotprojekt mit erfahrenen Experten für nachhaltige System- und Gebäudeentwicklung in den Bereichen Mobility Innovations, Smart City Innovations und Green Buildings ganzheitlich entwickelt.


gatelands im Interview mit Dr. Wilhelm Bauer, Institutsleiter am Fraunhofer-Institut für Arbeitswirtschaft und Organisation (IAO) in Stuttgart:


Die rasante Entwicklung hin zu globalen Wertschöpfungsnetzwerken bedingt einen immer größer werdenden Bedarf an Mobilität in Waren- und Personenlogistik. Wie können wir diesen steigenden Mobilitätsbedarf langfristig sichern und bewältigen?

 

„Wir werden diesen steigenden Bedarf an Logistikleistungen nur dann befriedigen können, wenn wir vor allem in den Städten zu besonders nachhaltigen Lösungen kommen werden. Dazu bedarf es einer schnellen Einführung besonders energieeffizienter Transport- und Verkehrssysteme, die mit regenerativen Energien betrieben werden können. Fahrzeuge mit Hybridantrieben und später dann vollelektrische Fahrzeuge werden uns hier weiterbringen können. Der internationale Wettbewerb um die besten Ideen und Lösungen ist in vollem Gange.“


Ist es dabei nicht wesentlich, dass die städtische Infrastruktur insgesamt so intelligent vernetzt betrieben und benutzt werden kann, dass ein harmonisches Miteinander von Menschen und technischen Systemen entsteht?

 

„Die Smart City ist unser Leitbild der Zukunft: vernetzt, energieeffizient, sicher, emissionsarm, sauber und funktional. Und natürlich zugleich betriebswirtschaftlich funktionierend. Smart Citys sind für die Menschen gemacht, für ihre Bedürfnisse, für Leben und Arbeiten. Leben in der Stadt erfährt damit eine neue Qualität, hier entstehen die attraktiven Lebensräume der Zukunft! Wir können in Deutschland zeigen, dass wir hier international absolut an der Spitze sind und mit unseren Innovationen für die Städte der Zukunft die kommenden Herausforderungen bewältigen.“


Wir danken für das Interview!



DR. WILHELM BAUER –
STELLVERTRETENDER INSTITUTSLEITER
DES FRAUNHOFER IAO UND DES IAT